• 0


The official language is Albanian. It constitutes a unique and original branch of Indo-European family. The Albanian language is an ancestor of the Illyrian language and it is one of the oldest languages spoken in the European continent. Its vocabulary contains words from other languages such as Persian ,Turkish, Greek, Latin and Slavic languages, but it has preserved its originality as an unique language. The Albanian language is recognized for its two distinct dialects, which are: “Gheg” and “Tosk”. The Shkumbin River, which divides the country into two almost equal parts, is the natural border of these two dialects. Gheg is spoken in the north, while Tosk is spoken in the south. The Albanian alphabet has 36 letters.